Chaplet of the Five Wounds of Jesus

But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.

Isa 53:5

Chaplet of the Five Wounds of Jesus

The first mention of the Five Wounds Chaplet is found in a document dating back to 1821. The Plateau of Saints John and Paul, at Rome, relates, “The Most Rev. Fr. General, acting in our spirit to promote devotion to the Passion of Our Lord, obtained permission to bless the Chaplet of the Five Wounds, at the same time enriching it with indulgences.” A decree first approved this chaplet of Pius VII dated January 22, 1822.


How to pray the Chaplet of the Five Wounds

The Chaplet of the Five Wounds consists of 5 groups of 5 beads each. For each bead, pray one Glory Be… And one Hail Mary the Blessed Virgin.

In each group of five beads, meditate on one of the five wounds of Our Lord.

Meditate first on the Wound in the left foot of Our Lord,
Then the Wound in the right foot,
The left hand,
The right hand,
And finally, the Wound in the Sacred side of Jesus.


On the large beads, pray,

“Eternal Father,
I offer Thee the Wounds…
Of Our Lord Jesus Christ
To heal the wounds of our souls.

On the small beads, pray,

“My Jesus,
Pardon and mercy
Through the merits of Thy Sacred Wounds.




Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove © 2022 meline Ngo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »